Barbara Wiedenbein, Common Pleas Clerk of Courts
Tim Rudd, Municipal Clerk of Court
Clermont County, Ohio
Title Fees Frequently Asked Questions

Auto Title Division

The Clerk of Court's Auto Title Division issues titles and collects the required sales tax for motor vehicles. The State of Ohio requires that automobiles, motorcycles, mobile homes, boats and boat motors, all-terrain vehicles (ATV), off highway motorcycles, waverunners, and jet skis be titled. Passport applications and processing is available at the Milford office

Batavia Office Milford Office
Office Number Office Number
Information & Assistance (513) 732-8050 Information & Assistance (513) 732-7950
Fax (513) 732-7846 Fax (513) 831-6028
Location & Hours Location & Hours
457 Main Street.
Batavia, Ohio 45103
Mon.-Fri. 8:00a.m.-5:00p.m.
Wednesday until 6:30 p.m.
Sat. 8:00a.m.-2:00p.m
1011 Lila Ave.
Milford, Ohio 45150
Mon.-Fri. 8:00a.m.-5:00p.m.
Sat. 8:00a.m.-12:00p.m
Services Services
Motor Vehicle & Watercraft Titles Motor Vehicle & Watercraft Titles
Passport Application Office
Voter Registration



Title Fees Cost
Certificate of Title$15.00
Duplicate Title$15.00
Memorandum With Title$15.00
Memorandum Without Title$5.00
Recording Lien$15.00
Salvage Title$4.00
Boat Title$15.00
Outboard Motor Title$15.00
Serial Inspection$1.50
Title Notary Fees$1.00
Penalty-Failure to Apply within 30 days of notarization$5.00



Frequently Asked Questions :

When you buy a Motor Vehicle or Watercraft
Power of Attorney
Titling Boats & Outboard Motors
Off-highway Motorcycles & APVs
When you sell a Motor Vehicle or Watercraft
When you have a Mortgage on your MotorVehicle, Watercraft, or Manufactured Home
Minor Consent 4505.031 O.R.C.
R.C. 4505.10 & 2106.18 - Surviving Spouse
R.C. 2106.17 - With Right of Survivorship
R.C. 2131.13 - Designation of Beneficiary



When you buy a Motor Vehicle or Watercraft

You must apply for your Certificate of Title at any title office in the state in which you reside. State ID or Ohio License required.

Never make any alterations or erasures on a Certificate of Title. If this is done, the Title becomes null and void and a replacement title will have to be obtained. Do not fill in any part of the assignment or application on the reverse side of the Title unless it is done in the presence of a Notary Public or other duty authorized officer with power to administer oaths. All signatures must be Notarized.

If two names are to appear on the Title, both signatures are required for all transactions in the State of Ohio.

Effective November 25, 1971, Ohio Revised Code Section 4505.06 requires all Titles that are assigned and notarized must be filed with the County Clerk of Courts within thirty days from the date of notarization or a penalty of $ 5.00 will be assessed.
Return to Frequently Asked Questions

Power of Attorney

No person can sign for you without an notarized power of attorney form. This power of attorney is attached to our files and becomes a part thereof.
Return to Frequently Asked Questions

Titling Boats and Outboard Motors

A Certificate of Title is required on all boats 14 feet long or greater and all outboard motors 10 H.P. or greater. A canoe or kayak is exempt. The procedure is the same as for motor vehicles.

Effective January 1, 2000, watercraft less than 14 feet in length with a permanently affixed mechanical means of propulsion of 10 H.P. or more will be required to be titled. This includes Wave Runners, Jet Skis, and Jet Boats.
Return to Frequently Asked Questions

Off Highway Motorcycles & APVs

Beginning July 1, 1999 HB 611 requires that Off-Highway Motorcycles and All Purpose Vehicles must be titled in Ohio.
Return to Frequently Asked Questions

When you sell a Motor Vehicle or Watercraft

Do not execute the assignment on the reverse side of the Certificate of Title until a bonafide sale has been made. Make certain the buyer's full name and address is inserted before you sign the assignment. Initials are not acceptable. Your Certificate of Title must be obtained at any title office in the state.
Return to Frequently Asked Questions

When you have a Mortgage on your Motor Vehicle, Watercraft, or Manufactured Home

If you apply for a loan, always insist upon getting a memorandum Certificate of Title with which you can obtain license plates and show proof of ownership.

Upon satisfaction of your mortgage, you should receivethe original certificate of title from the bank or finance company, properly stamped "Paid" and lien cancelled by the Clerk of Courts.
Return to Frequently Asked Questions

Minor Consent 4505.031 O.R.C.

No minor under eighteen years of age shall sell or otherwise dispose of a motor vehicle or purchase or otherwise acquire a motor vehicle unless the application for a certificate of title ia accompanied by a Minor Consent form and signed by one of the minor's parents, his guardian or other person having custody of the minor authorizing the sale, disposition, purchase, or acquisition of the motor vehicle.

At the time the application for certificate of title is submitted, the adult who signed the form, shall be present and shall provide identification establishing that he is the individual whose signature appears on the form.
Return to Frequently Asked Questions

R.C. 4505.10 & 2106.18 - Surviving Spouse

Amended H.B.156 with an effective date of March 11, 1996 which amends R.C.4505.10 and 2106.18. The Act allows under specified circumstances, a surviving spouse to select and inherit two automobiles owned by the decedent, outside other probate proceedings, and not otherwise disposed of by will, as long as the total appraised value of the selected automobiles does not exceed $40,000.

The Surviving spouse affidavit and the application on the back of the title must be completed and sworn to by the surviving spouse. The title may either be issued in any title office in the state.
Return to Frequently Asked Questions

R.C. 2106.17 - With Right of Survivorship

If two persons have established in a certificate of title joint ownership with right of survivorship in a motor vehicle or a watercraft, or outboard motor that is required to be titled under chapter 1548. of the revised code, and if one of those persons die, the interest of the deceased person in a motor vehicle, watercraft or outboard motor shall pass to the survivor of them upon transfer of title to the motor vehicle, or watercraft or outboard motor in accordance with section 4505.10 or 1548.11 of the revised code. The motor vehicle, watercraft or outboard motor shall not be considered an estate asset and shall not be included and stated in the estate inventory.
Return to Frequently Asked Questions

R.C. 2131.13 - Designation of Beneficiary

An owner can designate a beneficiary in the case of their death. The owner can apply at any title office in the state for a replacement title showing the beneficiary. They need to provide their ID and the name, address, SS#, and date of birth of beneficiary. In case of owners death, the beneficiary would need to bring a copy of the death certificate, title, and their ID into any title office to transfer the title into their name.
Return to Frequently Asked Questions